The Connection

Road Between Trees

Hi guys, it’s my first blog post for the year, been away to a mini boarding school(lol). By that I mean the Nigerian law school. I have been trying to post but then procrastination was not helping matters. Today’s blog post has to do with one of the things I was opportuned  to experience or should I say watch.

 

              Read to the end guys!

I remember when the list just came out and there was a lot of group chats created on WhatsApp  for that purpose. Different schools joined, some were from my school and I think for some reasons probably out of excitement a lot of people thought there was a need for previous sets to guide us and all of that. So there were a lot of advise coming through. I remember a guy who said if you are going to the law school to read then you do not need more than five clothes and all of that, I still do not see how wearing clothes and all of that affects ones brain and studies. Makes no sense to me till date. (Just saying) Then we got advise like make friends with everyone be nice to people and most importantly make CONNECTION. Like I said earlier guys people really did take this advise seriously.

What I learnt from this whole advise thing is, if you are taking an advise from another person you can’t say you want to take it all strictly, you need to filter some and take the meaningful ones and do what you are comfortable with. I remember those we tried to be friendly with when we just resumed and say hi to, some took the niceness as something else. Such weird feeling. In the long run you will have to be yourself, meet people but never force a relationship.

When we just resumed believe me a lot of people had started to blend and you know meet new people and all of that which was a bit difficult for me due to my personality traits. I can’t just jump start friendship. Basically what everyone ended up being was mostly acquaintances to each other which makes sense and of course few good friends.

I remember how people took the whole connection thing. Imagine meeting someone today and the person says ‘Hi, I’m Elizabeth and I schooled in the UK’ and when the person is narrating it to her own friends it goes like this ‘I met a girl today, she studied in the UK and she must be very rich and she definitely has connection’ or you meet a man who is a commissioner and also a student of your campus and you automatically classify him as ‘your connect’. I remember someone saying she tries to be friendly and nice and takes her time to greet certain people because they can help her ministry.

Image result for images People fail to realize that for anyone to be your connect, they have to become your friend first genuinely irrespective of the benefits.

The funniest kind of connection people assume they have is based on how a person behaves money wise forgetting that most people are just packaging. You meet a guy who hangs his gadget in his pocket for you to see the model. You look at his gadget and how he is dressed and just come to a conclusion that he is rich or you meet a girl and look at the expensive things she has and just come to a conclusion that she is rich and she has a job waiting for her and then you quickly chip in that ‘she should remember you and link you up’ she is probably looking for a job like you.

Your connect is looking for connection and your connect might fail you.

What I learnt from it all personally was to be nice to people because we might meet again but also never to force friendship. Say hi, help people when you can with no strings attached. Be good to people without expecting anything in return. Have a lovely week.

It was fun. If by any means you can relate please do not forget to comment and share your experience and thoughts.

 

 

 

4 Replies to “The Connection”

  1. Excellent post. I was checking continuously this blog and I am impressed!
    Extremely useful information. I care for such information a lot.
    I was looking for this certain information for a very long time.Thank you and good luck.

    Like

Leave a comment

MARIAM SHITTU

Poetry, Lifestyle & Purposeful Living

Demi Akin

Lifestyle & DIY Blog

sophie harris

watch me find my feet | new posts w • s

When Women Inspire

Inspiring Women in Business, Health & Lifestyle

antonia robinson

Insta/Twitter: @antoniarob Email: antonia8robinson@btinternet.com

Christina Fashion

Lifestyle, fashion and business

Little Fears

Tales of humour, whimsy and courgettes

Simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

TourwithBrielle

Travel | Lifestyle | Beauty